Prayerless

my hands tremble 

 

afternoon light teases the oregano

 

in the kitchen window  

 

something survives here anyway

 

as I disintegrate with random entropy

 

my fault my fault my

 

fault lines shift silent tears

 

run down her cheeks eyes hard

 

my fault my fault my child

 

core of my being shivering

 

begging to fall into a black hole

 

in her pajamas my baby my life

 

creation of my XX, your flawed XY

 

on the edge of our familial singularity

 

no logarithm can save us from 

 

this spiral no blessing no 

 

prayer of Fibonacci numbers

 

chanted in sacred precision

 

null set sunshine nothing no

 

thing left but cuban oregano

 

claiming the light 

Author: synchronicityoftheheart

I am a writer, photographer, swim instructor/coach and water aerobics instructor. I was lucky enough to grow up in both Puerto Rico and New York. I have been taking photos of the colonial era cemetery in San Juan, PR since I was a teenager. It is located below El Castillo San Felipe del Morro, the Spanish fortress that guards San Juan Bay. I have multiple degrees from Utica College, Syracuse University, Old Dominion University and Washington Institute of Natural Medicine. I was able to study photography at the Munson Williams Proctor Art Institute in Utica, NY and study writing at the Women's Writers Center in Cazenovia, NY.

Leave a Reply

