Fasting

of course,

you can see the hunger

in my eyes more clearly

than ever recognize yours

were you to stand eyes

to mirror and examine

the depth of needs

you act out daily

 

you lie to yourself

amorcito,

using every instrument

of vision    binoculars

and telescope to scan

the horizon rather than

look into my eyes

and glimpse yourself

alone   just as hungry

as breathless with desire

 

you are so unaccustomed

to apotheosis   that ecstasy

being wide open

like sky

though we sleep windows

doors flung aside

wake at sunrise to watch

blue to pink   lights

on the bridge the only separation

of night and ocean

even then I must ask

for your embrace

though we share this

purely before

our defenses have wakened

 

what pulls you away

from me    after

we have made unabashed

love for hours intuitively

amorcito   in sleep you

lay your head on my breasts

content   our breath  our hearts

synchronous

and full

 

 

 

 

Author: synchronicityoftheheart

I am a writer, photographer, swim instructor/coach and water aerobics instructor. I was lucky enough to grow up in both Puerto Rico and New York. I have been taking photos of the colonial era cemetery in San Juan, PR since I was a teenager. It is located below El Castillo San Felipe del Morro, the Spanish fortress that guards San Juan Bay. I have multiple degrees from Utica College, Syracuse University, Old Dominion University and Washington Institute of Natural Medicine. I was able to study photography at the Munson Williams Proctor Art Institute in Utica, NY and study writing at the Women's Writers Center in Cazenovia, NY.

Leave a Reply

