Anti-Depression Salad From The Bad/Sad Boricua

IMG_5005.jpg

Very sad & overwhelmed since Spring Equinox. The weather has been too cold for my Boricua taste, here in Northern Virginia. So I decided that I needed spinach salad. I planned it out so every ingredient would max up my sense of well-being. Since food is not my expertise, just know that all of these ingredients are full of vitamins, minerals and antioxidents. I’m going to eat a salad every day for lunch or dinner and see how I feel. Here is my recipe:

Spinach – iron

Cherry Tomatoes – lycopene in the skins

Carrots – beta-carotene

Black Beans, Peas or Chickpeas – iron, copper, zinc, potassium, calcium

Blueberries or Blackberries – vitamins, antioxidents especially resveratrol

Dry Coconut – triglicerides – fuels  good moods

Pumpkin Seeds  – tryptophan

Drizzle with Extra Virgin Olive Oil, Fruit or Balsamic Vinegar & Lemon

Pink Himalayan Salt & Fresh Ground Black Pepper (to taste)

 

BTW: if anybody tries this salad or some permutation please let me know!!!!!

Author: synchronicityoftheheart

I am a writer, photographer, and swim instructor/coach and finally, a yoga instructor! Yeah, I do a lot of stuff! I was lucky enough to grow up in both Puerto Rico and New York. I am obsessed with Santa Maria Magdalena de Pazzis Cemetery in Viejo San Juan. It is located below El Castillo de San Felipe del Morro.

Leave a comment